Not connected, Your IP: 54.234.146.26
KurtLongjohn

Day 1 using AirVPN; terrible usenet DL speeds

Today is my first day trying out AirVPN.  (I've been using another service for a couple of years.)

Love all the tools and status reports, etc, on the website.  The Eddie client is impressive (but I can't get it to run on my Arch Linux machine, so using OpenVPN).

I just tested out some download speeds with my usenet server.   With my other VPN service I can get close to 4.5 MB/s DL speeds.   When I switched to AirVPN I was getting less than 1.0 MB/s  (sometimes a LOT less--when it would connect at all.)

Very discouraging, to say the least.    I tried changing the UDP fragment size to 256, but that didn't improve anything.

Any suggestions would be welcome!  

Very discouraging, to say the least.    I tried changing the UDP fragment size to 256, but that didn't improve anything.

Any suggestions would be welcome!  

Hello,

please explain the meaning of this sentence. What directives did you enforce?

If it has something to do with mssfix, note that unless you have fragmentation you must NOT limit TCP sessions packets sizes inside UDP. If you have no fragmentation, that will only harm performance, not improve it.

Try larger OpenVPN buffers sizes, alternative connection modes, different servers in various locations and if you run Windows take care to use tun/tap driver 9..21.2, latest available driver for your physical network interface and no third-party packet filtering tools and network managers.

If your problem persists include connection logs and system report, without them it's hard to say anything else.

Kind regards

I think I might have solved my speed issues on my Linux machine.  I had missed the part about imbedded certificates not working with NetworkManager under Linux.   I re-downloaded the config files with the option to have the certs separate.  So far (only a few minutes now) I'm getting better resolve times and download speeds.