Jump to content


Photo

Connection problem when not using Airvpn


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#21 Staff

Staff

    Advanced Member

  • Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • 7792 posts

Posted 22 June 2016 - 10:50 AM

Hello,

 

please include the output of the command "ipconfig /all" issued from a PowerShell or command prompt while the Air client is not running.

 

Kind regards



#22 Yaul

Yaul

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 22 June 2016 - 12:35 PM

I've got the exact same problem of after_lunch :

- I'm using the AirVPN client for Windows 10 64 bit

- Old user of HMA (I don't think this is related to the problem but why not ?) HMA client uninstalled of course.

- DHCP trick mentionned above done.

- Uninstalled AirVPN and uncheck the autolock, reset the firewall, reboot, reinstall AirVPN (so, the lock shouldn't be there anymore, because of the reset of the firewall and I didn't launch back the network lock)

- I've been advised to change the DNS to Google's DNS, didn't change anything, went back to the automatic DNS option.

- Tried to disable my security software + the windows firewall.

 

The problem is I can't connect to my university Wi-Fi with AirVPN, and without internet don't work...

 

EDIT : I didn't see the post about the ipconfig/all results, should I "blur" some informations that figure in it before posting it here ? (like my ip, or other stuff ?)

EDIT 2 : My ipconfig/all result is in french, any way to display it in english? I think it will be easier for the staff to read it :)

EDIT 3 : All my devices are DHCP Enabled


Edited by Yaul, 22 June 2016 - 03:13 PM.


#23 after_lunch

after_lunch

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 22 June 2016 - 12:43 PM

I have the details as plain text in a Notepad file. I don't know what I'm doing wrong, but I cannot copy and paste them into this post. I can't even copy and paste text within this post - I can only cut it! What works on other forums doesn't seem to work here. Can someone please help a newbie!!!?

 

UPDATE: I subsequently discovered that my inability to "copy and paste" in this topic was due to Internet Explorer (my default browser at the time was IE11). I've now changed my default browser to Firefox, which cured the "copy and paste" problem, and a few others!



#24 after_lunch

after_lunch

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 22 June 2016 - 02:45 PM

After half a glass of sherry, half a Terry's Chocolate orange, and half of Tetsuo: The Iron Man, I remembered that in the output from ipconfig /all, several devices were shown as "DHCP Enabled.......No". I googled some DHCP help on my other PC [http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch001048.htm - address typed here by hand, still can't paste!], then enabled DHCP on Wi-Fi and Ethernet 2. It worked: although Air VPN was not running on this PC, Internet access was restored immediately. Of course, this may only be a temporary cure, which the next Air VPN connect/disconnect will ruin. But perhaps it will help Yaul until a permanent solution is found!



#25 after_lunch

after_lunch

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 22 June 2016 - 07:37 PM

Looks like the problem was DHCP all along. I switched the PC back on at 7 p.m., and had internet access straight away, without Air VPN. I logged in to  Air VPN, did an hour's work, and exited, and I still had internet access. So why didn't Chaf's command line fix work for me? Two possible reasons: I did it for Ethernet 2 but not for Wi-Fi; I did it when still logged in to Air VPN. So the only remaining mystery is why I can't paste content in these posts! I wonder whether it might be tied in with the 5 post probation for newbies. I need one more post before I can test that!



#26 after_lunch

after_lunch

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 23 June 2016 - 09:33 PM

I had the same problem again this evening - no Internet access without Air VPN - but at least this time I had a fair idea what to do! After a three hour session this evening, most of it with Air VPN running - I ran Windows Update before logging in - I disconnected/exited Air VPN and cleared my browser history. Before shutting down the PC, I tried to access my ISP's webmail to clear all messages, because I hadn't been able to connect to it earlier with Air VPN running. That's when I discovered that I had no Internet access! I looked at the Network Connection properties for Ethernet, Ethernet 2 (which Air VPN uses instead of Ethernet) and Wi-Fi. DHCP was enabled on all three connections, but DNS server was not set to obtain address automatically on Ethernet 2 and Wi-Fi. When I changed the settings back to obtain address automatically, Internet access was restored. It didn't take long to fix the problem this time - writing this post took longer! - but I don't know what happened to change the DNS Server option to manual. Oh well.



#27 Yaul

Yaul

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 26 June 2016 - 08:38 PM

I still have the problem, I've updated my last post in this topic.

To AirVPN staff : I'm ok to share the ipconfig/all results while AirVPN is not running and disconnected (I've got it right now), but should I blur some informations before posting it here ?

Many thanks



#28 zhang888

zhang888

    Donald Trump of IT/Security

  • Moderators
  • 2219 posts

Posted 26 June 2016 - 08:45 PM

You can blur any information that you find unique or irrelevant, such as last bits of IP addresses or usernames.


Occasional moderator, sometimes BOFH. Opinions are my own, except when my wife disagrees.


#29 Yaul

Yaul

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 26 June 2016 - 08:57 PM

Thanks, so here it is (it has been translated by Translator, because I've got a french computer, sorry about that...).

If some relevant informations are blured by mistakes or if some personnals remains just tell me, I'll edit that out :

 

Windows IP Configuration

   Hostname . . . . . . . . . . : ########
   primary DNS suffix. . . . . . :
   node type. . . . . . . . . . : Peer Peer
   enabled IP routing. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   search list of the DNS suffix .: home

Ethernet Ethernet card:

   Media status. . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Specific DNS Suffix connection. . . : home
   Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . Killer e2200 Gigabit Ethernet Controller
   Physical address . . . . . . . . . . . : D8-CB-8A-EE-A3-05
   DHCP enabled. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   enabled automatic configuration. . . : Yes

wireless card Local Area Connection * 2:

   Media status. . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Specific DNS Suffix connection. . . :
   Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . Microsoft Virtual Wi-Fi Direct Adapter
   Physical address . . . . . . . . . . . : 78-0C-B8-C5-51-03
   DHCP enabled. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   enabled automatic configuration. . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection:

   Specific DNS Suffix connection. . . :
   Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . BlackBerry Virtual Private Network
   Physical address . . . . . . . . . . . : 02-60-60-97-1B-01
   DHCP enabled. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   enabled automatic configuration. . . : Yes
   autoconfiguration of IPv4 address. . . : 169.254.###.## (preferred)
   Subnet Mask. . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
   Default Gateway. . . . . . . . . :
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet Ethernet 4:

   Media status. . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Specific DNS Suffix connection. . . :
   Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . TAP-Windows Adapter V9
   Physical address . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-74-9A-9D-55
   DHCP enabled. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   enabled automatic configuration. . . : Yes

wireless Wi-Fi card:

   Specific DNS Suffix connection. . . : home
   Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . Intel ® Dual Band Wireless-AC 3160
   Physical address . . . . . . . . . . . : 78-0C-B8-C5-51-02
   DHCP enabled. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   enabled automatic configuration. . . : Yes
   IPv4 address. . . . . . . . . . . . . .: 192.168.###.## (preferred)
   Subnet Mask. . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, June 26, 2016 2:04:57 p.m.
   Lease expiring. . . . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, June 27, 2016 10:31:52 p.m.
   Default Gateway. . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCP server. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DNS servers. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.4.0.1
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . . . . : Enabled



#30 after_lunch

after_lunch

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 26 June 2016 - 09:30 PM

Yaul, I keep getting the same problem after exiting from an AirVPN session, but now I know what to check, it only takes about one minute to fix. This evening, it was DNS at fault again, and I suspect that is causing your problem too. Your wireless DNS setting is 10.4.0.1, which is what I see when connected to Air VPN, and when I have no internet access when not connected to AIR VPN. After changing DNS server properties back to obtain address automatically - which restores internet access outside Air VPN - the ipconfig /all report changes to DNS Servers....192.168.0.1, which is the same as my DHCP address when enabled. It wouldn't take you long to check! There's more info from the link in my post #24.



#31 ImaginaryPanda

ImaginaryPanda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 August 2016 - 11:33 PM

Airvpn client has a few but very annoying bugs...I and a few others I kknow experienced the issue.
 
The reason you can't reconnect without Airvpn client is because your Wifi or Ethernet has been assigned a fixed IP. You have to manually reset your devices to DHCP:
 
1. Launch a command line using cmd.exe
2. type

netsh interface show interface
   and identify which network interface you are connected to.
 
winfix1.png
 
3. Type 
netsh interface IPv4 set dnsserver "Local Area Connection" dhcp
where "Local Area Connection" is of course to be adapted to the name of the "connected" device in previous step...

This solution worked for me. Thank you very much.

#32 MinaRotter

MinaRotter

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 September 2016 - 05:23 PM

@simba937 has the easiest fix. However this situation can be avoided by completely exiting the vpn app, not just exiting the vpn connection but exiting the app as well                       



#33 silv1

silv1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 January 2017 - 11:07 AM

Airvpn client has a few but very annoying bugs...I and a few others I kknow experienced the issue.

 

The reason you can't reconnect without Airvpn client is because your Wifi or Ethernet has been assigned a fixed IP. You have to manually reset your devices to DHCP:

 

1. Launch a command line using cmd.exe

2. type

netsh interface show interface

   and identify which network interface you are connected to.

 

winfix1.png

 

3. Type 

netsh interface IPv4 set dnsserver "Local Area Connection" dhcp

where "Local Area Connection" is of course to be adapted to the name of the "connected" device in previous step...

 

 

Helped a lot! Thank you!



#34 Shrimpyaab

Shrimpyaab

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 January 2017 - 06:02 PM

I had this same problem. Another thread posted this solution and it worked for me:

 

- Go to Control Panel
- Click Network and Internet
- Click Network and Sharing Center
- Click Change adapter settings
- Right click your network
- Click Properties
- Click Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4)
- Click Properties
- Select Obtain DNS server address automatically.
- Click OK
- Click Close

Thanks so much! Network Lock now works as it's suppose to. It use to only work when connected to the VPN even when Network Lock was off.



#35 bsabiston

bsabiston

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 06 March 2017 - 06:05 PM

Man, this is a serious bug!  Any plans on fixing this?  



#36 bsabiston

bsabiston

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 06 March 2017 - 06:06 PM

Anyone know how to fix this on a Mac?



#37 LZ1

LZ1

    It's nice to be nice to nice people

  • Moderators
  • 1950 posts

Posted 08 March 2017 - 04:21 PM

Anyone know how to fix this on a Mac?

Hello!

 

If you mean the thing with obtaining IPv4 automatically, then you can just go to your Mac network settings and look for similar settings.

 

It's also not a serious bug, in the sense that it's not a security problem.


Hi there, are you new to AirVPN? Many of your questions are already answered in this guide. Its Guides Section has guides on Linux/Torrenting/Blocked sites & many other topics too.
Moderators do not speak on behalf of AirVPN. Only the Official Staff account does. Please read the First Questions section in the link above for more details, thank you.
Did you make a guide or how-to for something? Then contact me to get it listed in my new user guide's Guides Section, so that the community can find it more easily.

Tired of Windows? Why Linux Is Better.

#38 bsabiston

bsabiston

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 08 March 2017 - 04:41 PM

If it hampers the normal operation of the computer then it's a serious bug IMO. Not in the security sense, but in the 'hey this software f**d up my computer' sense.

 

Whatever, tech support helped me and what I had to do was clear the DNS settings -- AirVPN had left the wrong DNS setting in the Network settings when the computer's power went off.



#39 Staff

Staff

    Advanced Member

  • Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • 7792 posts

Posted 08 March 2017 - 11:25 PM

If it hampers the normal operation of the computer then it's a serious bug IMO. Not in the security sense, but in the 'hey this software f**d up my computer' sense.

 

Whatever, tech support helped me and what I had to do was clear the DNS settings -- AirVPN had left the wrong DNS setting in the Network settings when the computer's power went off.

 

 

 

Hi!

 

We're glad to know that the problem is solved.

 

This is not an Eddie bug and never was in OS X or macOS. In Windows, Eddie 2.10.3 or older version had a bug for which the original DNS settings of a network interface missing one or both DNS settings could be not restored under certain circumstances, but it was fixed in 2.11. When the system is shut down without closing first Eddie, or in any case when Eddie is killed without grace, it can't of course restore settings, but this not a bug (no program can do anything when killed without grace). However Eddie keeps a safety backup and it will restore such settings at the next run/shut down cycle.

 

Kind regards



#40 seahaugh

seahaugh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 01 May 2018 - 05:56 PM

Hi!

 

We're glad to know that the problem is solved.

 

This is not an Eddie bug and never was in OS X or macOS. In Windows, Eddie 2.10.3 or older version had a bug for which the original DNS settings of a network interface missing one or both DNS settings could be not restored under certain circumstances, but it was fixed in 2.11. When the system is shut down without closing first Eddie, or in any case when Eddie is killed without grace, it can't of course restore settings, but this not a bug (no program can do anything when killed without grace). However Eddie keeps a safety backup and it will restore such settings at the next run/shut down cycle.

 

Kind regards

 

Hi, 

 

I'm having this issue as well, except that I am using macOS High Sierra 10.13.4 with AirVPN version 2.13.6

I have tried setting Network Lock to 'None' and to 'OS X - PF' but neither has allowed me to connect to the internet unless I am connected to AirVPN.

Also, I did search on the issue and this was the article that came up, but please point me in the right direction if I'm using the wrong forum/thread, etc.

 

Thanks!







Similar Topics Collapse

2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

Servers online. Online Sessions: 13795 - BW: 51081 Mbit/sYour IP: 34.228.143.13Guest Access.