Not connected, Your IP: 3.238.161.165
rmathes

ANSWERED new to VPN, trying to make this work now speeds are terrific

hey folks, this is my first attempt to run a VPN. I'm running on a Macbook Pro using the latest version of Sierra. I have Time Warner cable modem Internet service (in Austin, TX) and when I'm not connected to the VPN I average 260 meg down/20 meg up.  When connected my speeds were decimated, like under 10 meg down. I found a thread on this forum that had a few tips. Increased max packet size to 512, selected UDP 53 as the protocol and now I'm up to around 40 meg down/10 meg up, but that's still too much of a performance price to pay for this privacy.

Does anyone have any other suggestions for improving performance? I'd like to make this work, and if I could get it to where I was losing only about 10-15% performance I could live with that. But I can't lose 75%. For my work I do a lot of Skype video calling and need a robust connection. 

I appreciate any suggestions anyone has. Maybe this just isn't for me and I'll have to get a refund and close the account, but I'd love to make this work if possible. Thank you.

Hi and welcome!

You should try other ports and protocols, especially TCP443, SSH22 and SSL443 (also ports above 10,000 TCP/UDP).

Also just because a server is geographically close doesn't mean it's the fastest one so make sure to try different servers even foreign ones.

Some American people have reported that they have good speeds with Canadian or even Dutch servers!

It's a process of error and trial

Hope it helps.

Thank you Nick. One question: when I'm trying other ports, should I select only one protocol at a time or enable multiple?