Not connected, Your IP: 54.208.135.174

Greetings,

I've searched for forums, but couldn't find a concrete answer.

Is it possible to use AirVPN as a proxy server? I'd like to run it, but NOT have it redirect all traffic through air's vpn, only specific browser traffic that I point to it.

I'm looking at using Switchy! for chrome, which can route traffic through a proxy based on domain name (or other rules), and am wondering if I can setup AirVPN to be used as the proxy to go through when these rules trigger.

Interesting question! I think that the answer is probably "no", but I can see a few options for someone who wants to wrestle with the OpenVPN documentation. Here's some rambling thoughts..

Basically, for the purposes of this discussion, OpenVPN does two separate things; it

1. sets up an encrypted tunnel to the remote server, and

2. routes all traffic through the tunnel.

And the typical case is that one would want both.

Now, I'm no expert at using OpenVPN, but there seems to be enough things to poke at that an Air customer could relatively* easily have it do [1] above, but not [2]. At that point, I think, you would have access to Air's network, but no traffic would use the tunnel - unless it were actually addressed to somewhere in Air's internal network (like for example their name servers or the speed test thing).

If Air were to run an HTTP (web) proxy (and they don't, as far as I know), then what you want should at this point be as easy as adding that proxy to your browser just like any other. Traffic going to the proxy would be routed through the tunnel since it would be explicitly going to an Air address. (10.x.x.x)