Not connected, Your IP: 3.17.150.163
Sign in to follow this  
dagveep

VPN Torrent Protection

I am new to the AirVPN service, but I have been trying to read and learn as much as I can about staying protected.

Some Background:

- I am concerned with anonymity and leaks only while using uTorrent, not with browsing or anything else.

- I am using the Comodo firewall.

- I have reviewed the AirVPN FAQs.

- I have reviewed the Windows/Comodo document contained here: https://airvpn.org/index.php?option=com_kunena&func=view&catid=3&id=3405&Itemid=142

The ONLY things I have done to my system are to add the following lines to Comodo:

A) Allow IP In/Out From 10.4.0.0-10.9.255.255 to ANY Where Protocol Is Any for ALL ports.

Allow IP In/Out From ANY To 10.4.0.0-10.9.255.255 Where Protocol Is Any for uTorrent port only.

C) Block And Log IP In/Out From ANY TO ANY Where Protocol Is Any

and

D) Closed the uTorrent port in my router.

Am I missing anything else? Am I correct in understanding that I do not need to worry about DNS leaks since this is for torrent only? I feel like there are a lot of instructions for securing/hardening the VPN, but are the 4 lines above (A through D) all that is necessary when working with torrents? Is the only security concern that the VPN might go down, or are there other sources of leaks such as with DHT? Is there anything else I can/should do to be as safe as possible?

Thanks!

I am new to the AirVPN service, but I have been trying to read and learn as much as I can about staying protected.

Some Background:

- I am concerned with anonymity and leaks only while using uTorrent, not with browsing or anything else.

- I am using the Comodo firewall.

- I have reviewed the AirVPN FAQs.

- I have reviewed the Windows/Comodo document contained here: https://airvpn.org/index.php?option=com_kunena&func=view&catid=3&id=3405&Itemid=142

The ONLY things I have done to my system are to add the following lines to Comodo: