Jump to content


Photo

Can only connect to the internet (browser) through AirVPN


Best Answer Staff, 30 July 2015 - 10:32 PM

Hello!
 
Usually this problem arises in Windows when the Air client Eddie is not shut down properly.

While Eddie is NOT running, please check DNS settings and reset firewall rules. These operations will probably fix the problem.

How to restore Windows Firewall settings in Windows 7 (procedure is almost identical in other Windows versions):
http://www.digitalcitizen.life/restore-windows-firewall-defaults

How to change DNS:
https://www.opennicproject.org/configure-your-dns/how-to-change-dns-servers-in-windows-7

About which DNS servers to pick, we would recommend OpenNIC (see https://www.opennicproject.org ) but of course you can select any public DNS you prefer.

Always make sure to shut the Air client down properly, from its own menu. Never kill Eddie without grace, unless that's absolutely unavoidable.

Kind regards Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#21 serenacat

serenacat

    Advanced Member

  • Members2
  • PipPipPip
  • 241 posts

Posted 09 October 2015 - 03:36 AM

After a bit more thought and checking the Eddie log, airvpn uses it's own DNS lookup at 10.5.0.1 to avoid "DNS leaks".

Not a Windows systems programmer, but there seems to be a need to handle "window close" or "terminate process" signals from the OS, perhaps the problem is in the delegation to OpenVPN.

Perhaps Eddie could store away original non-vpn config in $HOME/.x, and offer a "Recover IP config" menu option when Not Connected ?



#22 squishband

squishband

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 October 2015 - 11:21 AM

Having the same problem with OS X El Capitan. Might we please have a description of curing the problem on that OS?



#23 cheggersb

cheggersb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 October 2015 - 01:17 PM

Hi, the same has happend on my Mac. Appreciate how to fix on a Mac please!
Thanks

#24 cheggersb

cheggersb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 October 2015 - 06:17 AM

I eventually figured it out...for the record I'm using OS X

Go to "system preferences" - "network" - "wifi"

Then click on the "assist me" button at the bottom.

Then select the "diagnostics" option where it will detect the problem and give you the options to rectify based on your particular internet service, it then corrects the problem (or it did for me) in no time. Whole process took 20 seconds

#25 emaus78

emaus78

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 November 2015 - 08:57 PM

win 10 64bit, eddie 2.10.3 here.

had same problem.

easy fixed with obtain dns automaticlly or setting opennic dns in ip4 properties.

thnx for solution.

 



#26 CGiBiN

CGiBiN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • LocationSwitzerland

Posted 06 November 2015 - 09:06 PM

/Windows 7

 

Hi, not sure if it helps somebody, but I use 2 bat's sometimes if I dont want to use AirVPN (for Gaming). I have 10.5.0.1 and 10.4.0.1 (windows) as DNS for the DNS Leak Problems..

 

Well.. you need to change the "LAN-Verbindung" to your Adapter Name and you might wanna use the hosts entry: "95.211.138.143    airvpn.org"

 

/Use for AirVPN connections

//DNS change to AirVPN.bat

_ _ _ _ _

netsh interface ipv4 set dns name="LAN-Verbindung" static 10.4.0.1 primary
netsh interface ipv4 add dns name="LAN-Verbindung" 10.5.0.1
ipconfig /flushdns
pause

_ _ _ _ _

 

/Use Internet without AirVPN

//DNS Change to no DNS.bat

_ _ _ _ _

netsh interface ipv4 set dns "LAN-Verbindung" dhcp
ipconfig /flushdns
pause

_ _ _ _ _



#27 k8n3fx7029

k8n3fx7029

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 11 November 2015 - 11:49 PM

your answer is very helpful.....and perhaps sheds some light, now that I am thinking about it, on our other, still unresolved matter re standard, non-admin use.

#28 psychlops

psychlops

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 24 December 2015 - 08:54 PM

I'm having this problem on a Mac. I've been using Viscosity with AirVPN for years, and finally decided to give Eddie a try, but with Eddie I can only go online when I'm connected through an AirVPN server.

 

I tried cheggersb's suggestion, above, but it didn't work for me. I'm not on a wi-fi network, my computer is plugged directly into the modem, so I have wi-fi turned off. I tried turning it on and running the diagnostics to see it it would help, but it didn't. 

 

The only way I can use my own IP is to quit Eddie entirely, then launch it again when I want to use it.

 

Does anyone have any suggestions?

 

Using Eddie 2.10.3 on OSX 10.10.5.



#29 psychlops

psychlops

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 26 December 2015 - 03:44 PM

There was no problem aftar all... it was just me being dumb.

 

I had Network Lock enabled, so every time I'd disconnect from an Air server my connection would go down. D'oh!   :whistle:



#30 mecdeva

mecdeva

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 06 January 2016 - 08:11 AM

*Wow, I was typing quite a long post here and all of a sudden it went blank and disappeared.  I have no idea if I accidentally sent it or if it just went into cyberspace.  Will try to start again.*

I was saying that I am having what seems to be the same issue as the others who have posted in this thread.  I've been using AirVPN for quite a while and this has never happened before, but suddenly I can only access the internet through AirVPN. 

Yesterday I shut down the VPN, and as usual I
(1) unlocked the Network Lock
(2) Changed my TCP/ipv4 IP to "automatic" as well as the DNS to "automatic"
Then I shut down my computer.

When I restarted the computer I found I was unable to connect to the internet.  My first thought was that I did not do the two items I listed, so I double checked.  No, IP was set to automatic as well as DNS assignment which has always worked.  But when I started AirVPN so I could verify that the network lock was off, I was surprised to find that it connected right away to the internet.  Shut it down again with the same results, no web access.

I still haven't found my solution but am still working on it.  It's normally not an issue, but it's a bit annoying when I'm shopping online and the cyberstore immediately tells me, "sorry, we don''t ship to Canada... or to the Netherlands, lol.

I'm running Windows 7 64 bit on this PC, will try running some Win7 network diagnostics and see what happens.  The Firewall is a pain because it's controlled by my Panda anti-virus software but it seems to be acting normally. 

I'll post more if I can figure out what my problem is.



#31 mecdeva

mecdeva

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 06 January 2016 - 02:25 PM

*Wow, I was typing quite a long post here and all of a sudden it went blank and disappeared.  I have no idea if I accidentally sent it or if it just went into cyberspace.  Will try to start again.*

I was saying that I am having what seems to be the same issue as the others who have posted in this thread.  I've been using AirVPN for quite a while and this has never happened before, but suddenly I can only access the internet through AirVPN. 

Yesterday I shut down the VPN, and as usual I
(1) unlocked the Network Lock
(2) Changed my TCP/ipv4 IP to "automatic" as well as the DNS to "automatic"
Then I shut down my computer.

When I restarted the computer I found I was unable to connect to the internet.  My first thought was that I did not do the two items I listed, so I double checked.  No, IP was set to automatic as well as DNS assignment which has always worked.  But when I started AirVPN so I could verify that the network lock was off, I was surprised to find that it connected right away to the internet.  Shut it down again with the same results, no web access.

I still haven't found my solution but am still working on it.  It's normally not an issue, but it's a bit annoying when I'm shopping online and the cyberstore immediately tells me, "sorry, we don''t ship to Canada... or to the Netherlands, lol.

I'm running Windows 7 64 bit on this PC, will try running some Win7 network diagnostics and see what happens.  The Firewall is a pain because it's controlled by my Panda anti-virus software but it seems to be acting normally. 

I'll post more if I can figure out what my problem is.

Well, I got my problems solved.  Naturally, it was the last solution I tried, lol.  I finally broke down and took the Administrator's advice (although I was doubtful); I swallowed hard and reset my Windows Firewall.  I immediately had access to the rest of the internet again.  Yes, it's a PITA to add back in all the programs that I want to have access through the firewall but I can do that as the need arises.  Somehow the firewall had become corrupted and it involved AirVPN.  But I don't even care about how it happened from a technical POV, as long as I know it's something I can fix I'm happy.  :asd:
I think one thing that threw me is that my antivirus software was handling my firewall and I didn't realize that the Windows Firewall was running underneath it; the antivirus was totally irrelevant.   I disabled that before restoring the Windows firewall and then re-enabled it afterwards and it's happy.  And I'm happy.

There's one thing that I'm still a bit confused about however, and that is how to disable the Network Lock when exiting the AirVPN client.  I've been closing AirVPN and it asks me something like, "Are you sure you want to exit?" and I say yes and close it.  It seems like half the time I have no internet access and have to open AirVPN again, and when I open it it says, "Network Lock Active" and that is when I have the option to disable it.  Is there a way to disable it before shutting down AirVPN?

 



#32 hugomueller

hugomueller

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 130 posts

Posted 29 January 2016 - 01:42 PM

Problem still exists and the support is ignoring it:

https://sendvid.com/7ahsycv9

The video shows clearly that the DNS server is not removed after a disconnect nor after exit airvpn client.



#33 Khariz

Khariz

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts

Posted 29 January 2016 - 10:19 PM

Same thing happens to me.  Have to reset my DNS settings.  I don't really care though, because I'm on the VPN 24/7 most of the time anyway.  It's really a minor inconvenience (to me anyway).  



#34 dko22

dko22

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 February 2016 - 08:47 AM

I'm new to airVPN and have had quite a few problems. Initially I could not get any connection and then after a restart and much to-ing and fro-ing, managed to access UK servers. Then, after disconnecting, I had exactly the same issues as described above. After resetting the DNS to auto, it seemed to be fine -- however there's one more thing to be pointed out is that quitting the client via the systray did not provide a clean shutdown. Only from the main programme window.

 

Would be good if some of this stuff could be sorted out but I guess eventually I got airVPN to do what I wanted and will probably use it again in the future -- I only require a VPN every now and again so the 3 day thing is useful.



#35 me.moo@posteo.me

me.moo@posteo.me

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 335 posts

Posted 22 February 2016 - 10:38 PM

I'm new to airVPN and have had quite a few problems. Initially I could not get any connection and then after a restart and much to-ing and fro-ing, managed to access UK servers. Then, after disconnecting, I had exactly the same issues as described above. After resetting the DNS to auto, it seemed to be fine -- however there's one more thing to be pointed out is that quitting the client via the systray did not provide a clean shutdown. Only from the main programme window.

 

Would be good if some of this stuff could be sorted out but I guess eventually I got airVPN to do what I wanted and will probably use it again in the future -- I only require a VPN every now and again so the 3 day thing is useful.

 

I wish I could get my head around to-ing and fro-ing but its way to complex for me.

 

Sorting out some of this stuff would certainly be good if some good stuff in the way of information was provided since it seems for 99% of users these problems do not arise and cannot be replicated.

 

If I ever get problems like these I usually spend a great deal of time finding out what is not right with my system, since it is unlikely there is a problem with Air software.



#36 EdensSpire

EdensSpire

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 459 posts

Posted 22 February 2016 - 11:58 PM

I'm new to airVPN and have had quite a few problems. Initially I could not get any connection and then after a restart and much to-ing and fro-ing, managed to access UK servers. Then, after disconnecting, I had exactly the same issues as described above. After resetting the DNS to auto, it seemed to be fine -- however there's one more thing to be pointed out is that quitting the client via the systray did not provide a clean shutdown. Only from the main programme window.

 

Would be good if some of this stuff could be sorted out but I guess eventually I got airVPN to do what I wanted and will probably use it again in the future -- I only require a VPN every now and again so the 3 day thing is useful.

 

The reason you didn't get a clean shutdown is because it asks if you wanna exit. Also if you are using network lock(which I recommend) it will set your DNS and firewall settings back to what it was before it got activated.



#37 esmeralda

esmeralda

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 02 March 2016 - 09:06 AM

I'm having this problem on Linux Mint.  It seems to have started after I upgraded from Mint 17.2 to 17.3 via the Mint Update Manager

 

I use the latest Eddie, use the dns set to the automatic or rename method,   and network lock set to automatic. 

 

I disconnect, log out, then turn off the network lock and exit correctly.  Then I have no internet unless I go back and use Air and Eddie.

 

My problem is that I don't know how to fix it - I haven't learnt this part of linux yet. 

Yestereday it somehow fixed itself after I booted another os and then returned to Mint - I don't know how or why.

Has anyone got any instructions on how I can fix?

 

Thanks for reading

 

64 bit Linux Mint Cinnamon 17.3

which is based on Ubuntu 14.04

 

 

Edit: I've tried resetting the dns settings in my Network Settings app in the bottom panel but that doesn't fix it.



#38 quindecim

quindecim

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 10 July 2016 - 06:06 AM

Hi guys,

Just chiming in here to explain what fixed this for me.

So what caused the issue is i didnt close eddie properly and computer had to be reset while un-installing new software.

 

when i restarted windows, i was getting the standard "network lock activated" response, whereby no internet traffic works at all.

 

Connecting and re-connecting the VPN, reapplying and removing the network lock, reseting, etc, had no effect. also changing the network lock protocal in preferences from 'windows firewall'to 'automatic', and then re-connecting, disconnecting, resetting, etc, all had no effect.

 

so i stumbled onto this guide.

First attempt i did the reset DNS settings thing in control panel, and reset ipv4 DNS from a pre-selected server to "automatic".

 

no effect, same issue.

I then went into windwos firewall settings and restored the defaults, and then re-opened eddie and applied the network lock and its now working again.

 

i re-checked the DNS settings, and AirVPN has re-applied the correct ipv4 settings that i previously changed to automatic.

I also re-checked my windows firewall settings and they appear to be set correctly, but is there a way i can check this?

 

Obviously the network lock feature is important to have working correctly, so i would like to be sure that my AirVPN firewall settings have been re-applied correctly?

Is it enough to verify that when network lock is activated, that if all other connections are inactive, then it is working correctly?

To my mind i think that is correct, but would like to get some confirmation from the Guru's on here for peace of mind.

:)


TL;DR --

1. didnt shut eddie down properly, network lock malfunctioned and was perma-locked, only able to access internet via eddie

2. followed directions in OP and went into network DNS settings, reset ipv4 DNS to 'automatic'.
3. went into windows firewall settings and restored defaults.
4. reconnected to eddie, re-applied network lock (re-applies DNS and firewall settings), and am back to normal now.



#39 scgt1

scgt1

    Advanced Member

  • Members2
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 15 July 2016 - 10:58 PM

Stupid Eset decided to randomly start blocking airvpn or something of that nature. Fixed my problem.



#40 bsabiston

bsabiston

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 06 March 2017 - 08:00 PM

Anyone know how to fix this on a Mac?







Similar Topics Collapse

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Servers online. Online Sessions: 13683 - BW: 51946 Mbit/sYour IP: 34.229.175.129Guest Access.