Not connected, Your IP: 18.222.67.251
JCBproductions

Hummingbird help: root, run on startup, routes

Posted ... (edited)

Greetings! I've been using Ubuntu for 10 months so forgive me for the Readme not being enough for me to get Hummingbird working. My Eddie gui software is unstable this week and I would like to switch to Hummingbird. I have hit a wall on self-solving 4 problems.

Problem 1: can't run Hummingbird with sudo
I installed the binary into ~/.local/bin and made it executable. After a restart I can run "hummingbird" from anywhere, then it complains about needing root. Ok, so I run "sudo hummingbird" and then it complains "hummingbird: command not found". Same command not found results for "./hummingbird".

Problem 2: Hummingbird needs to run as root
Everything I've read about enabling root says don't do it lightly, so I haven't set up a root password yet. I used chmod to change the owner of ~/.local/bin/hummingbird to root. I'm hoping a solution to the next question obviates the nuclear option of activating root and always keeping a root tab open to run Hummingbird?

Problem 3: automate Hummingbird to run on startup
The options for how to automate this are myriad and I'm overwhelmed right now. Another user on this forum set this up with systemd. Is anyone willing to share the steps they went through to automate launching Hummingbird? 

Problem 4: Routes 
The backend my professional org website uses hates all VPNs, so in Eddie I use routing to avoid having to turn off my VPN on a website I have to use frequently. I also use routes for Wikipedia to avoid accidentally getting thrown in Wikipedia jail for editing while on a VPN. How do I set up routes in Hummingbird? 

Thank you for edifying a Linux tyro (Ubuntu 20.04.1) 

Edited ... by JCBproductions
Specifying Linux version and flavor

2 hours ago, JCBproductions said:

Problem 1: can't run Hummingbird with sudo