Not connected, Your IP: 3.143.23.153
Sign in to follow this  
locksmith

TCP/UDP filters

Hi,

I am new to AirVPN and would be most grateful for some guidance on setting it up

1. I have installed the AirVPN client and OpenVPN software but was unable to connect to the AirVPN servers until I added a TCP/UDP filter in my router firewall. The settings used are:

SourceIP/Netmask - 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0

Destination IP/Netmask - 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0

Protocol - UDP

Source port(s) - 0~65535. Inbound "Block"

Destination port(s) - 443~443. Outbound "Allow"

My computer uses fixed IP and DNS addresses (as it is part of a small workgroup), WinXP SP3. Port 443 has not been forwarded to my local IP address

Being a complete newbie my first question is, even though the connection seems solid and fine, whether the settings I have used for "SourceIP/Netmask", "DestinationIP/Netmask" and "source port" are correct. Or should they be in some way tailored to the AirVPN network.

2. As a follow on from the above, am I correct to presume that I have to set a TCP/UDP filter in my router firewall for each remote port forwarded.

3. I tested the VPN connection (using just the above default setup) on the recommended DNS leak Test sites and there doesn't appear to be any DNS leaks. This being the case should I still implement the DNS leak procedures recommended by these sites?

Many thanks

Hi,

I am new to AirVPN and would be most grateful for some guidance on setting it up

1. I have installed the AirVPN client and OpenVPN software but was unable to connect to the AirVPN servers until I added a TCP/UDP filter in my router firewall. The settings used are:

SourceIP/Netmask - 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0

Destination IP/Netmask - 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0

Protocol - UDP

Source port(s) - 0~65535. Inbound "Block"

Destination port(s) - 443~443. Outbound "Allow"

My computer uses fixed IP and DNS addresses (as it is part of a small workgroup), WinXP SP3. Port 443 has not been forwarded to my local IP address

Hello!