Not connected, Your IP: 3.135.183.89
Huitzilopochtli

Win 10: how to connect using always CHACHA20-POLY1305

Hi, I am an AirVPN newbie and also a non-geek.

I have read all the FAQs and explanations and searched the forum for the topic in the title of this post.

I see the protocol listed (see screenshot) but I don't understand if this is the right place (and what I need to do). 

Can anyone help me in simple words? 

Many thanks to all.

Immagine 2022-01-21 095325.png

8 hours ago, Huitzilopochtli said:

Can anyone help me in simple words? 

"Prefer CHACHA20-POLY1305 data cipher" <-- have you tried ticking this one?

Otherwise, add to custom directives:

data-ciphers CHACHA20-POLY1305

Note that most processors in use on desktop today have AES-NI, encryption/decryption performance shouldn't be an issue.

NOT AN AIRVPN TEAM MEMBER. USE TICKETS FOR PROFESSIONAL SUPPORT.

LZ1's New User Guide to AirVPN « Plenty of stuff for advanced users, too!

Want to contact me directly? All relevant methods are on my About me page.

1 hour ago, Huitzilopochtli said:

I did not want to risk making the connection insecure.

Unfortunately, this sentence does not "qualify" you to change to CHACHA20-POLY1305 only. I'd like to ask why you want to use this option. What kind of improvement do you hope to achieve with it?

On 1/21/2022 at 8:08 PM, OpenSourcerer said:

Unfortunately, this sentence does not "qualify" you to change to CHACHA20-POLY1305 only. I'd like to ask why you want to use this option. What kind of improvement do you hope to achieve with it?