Not connected, Your IP: 54.86.180.90
Sign in to follow this  

Question on LAN security Linux

Hi there,

I am totally new to vpn and I just curious about how that all works and how to do it right, and now I am quite confused about thousand different setup methods.

I have a plain linux box which runs a service Y on a specific port that shall go throught airvpn.

So far I only read that once openvpn is started all traffic goes through the vpn.

If I simply start the vpn as descibed here

https://airvpn.org/topic/11431-using-airvpn-with-linux-from-terminal/

on the box does this mean that everyone on the other side of the vpn can portscan/connect to services that

are running on that box?

If I manage that box from another client in my LAN via a vncserver that is installed on that box, can I still reach the box after starting openvpn and can anyone on the other vpn side connect to the vncserver?

So my question is what is the easyest way to route only service Y to the vpn and make incomming (from the vpn) request route only to service Y's port?

Ok I just read that by default all incomming ports on the vpn are blocked. So I dont worry anymore about that someone tries to portscann me.