Not connected, Your IP: 52.15.199.188
Sign in to follow this  
guppy

Stand alone VPNencoder, how?

So currently I have my router running two VPN tunnels and I am doing split routing to make sure that the various computers on my network sends their traffic through the right "pipe".

This works but only very, very slowly (~3-4Mbit/s) due to the limited cpu power of my router and this at times can be a pain, so I bought an old computer to handle the VPN encoding.

I've installed pfsense on it but that's as far as I got - hopefully somebody can give me some pointers as I've never used pfsense before and it seems kinda weird to me.

The "VPN" box has 3 NICs the first two (vN1, vN2 henceforth) will be used to determine what tunnel to send the traffic to and the last one will be an "uplink" of sort.

Question 1 how do I go about sending the traffic to the VPN box's IPs - currently I use iptables to send traffic though the vpn "interfaces" tun11 / tun12, how do I send it to a different IP alltogether?

Question 1b - given that I my split routing is entirely based on source IP, would simply specifying vN1 or vN2 as gateway work?

Question 2 other than guessing how can I tell which NIC corresponds to what interface in pfsense? ( I'm using the serial edition if that makes a difference )

Question 3 how do I set up pfsense up to funnel everything from vN1 and vN2 though their respective VPN tunnel?

Hopefully the answers are simple - I'm just way out of my comfort zone here

Did you read the pfSense configuration manual (by pfSense_fan), here in the board?

https://airvpn.org/topic/11245-how-to-set-up-pfsense-21-for-airvpn/

Except question 2 everything should be right there. For that you will have to connect a cable to each

and check the pfSense status page - the interface will become green (connected) instead of red (disconnected).

If you have questions about policy based routing, ask them after you already configured your basic VPN on pfSense.