Not connected, Your IP: 3.140.185.123
baysic

Newbie question: Should a US user NOT use Canadian servers?

Hello,

I have a very simple question, I am just starting out with a VPN. I am a US (Greater NYC area) user who is looking to be safe while using P2P as well as access certain sports etc. My question is when using the service, Canadian servers provide me with about 90% my actual speed, which is great. I am concerned that it may be unwise to use a canadian based server. Is this not warranted? I know all laws are followed based on the EU, but I have seen people suggest people in the US not use US or CA based servers. I my next best server is Netherlands with a speed of less than 50% which is brutal. Please advise.

You will get lots of opinions if everyone were to answer your post with their own thoughts.  Let me share some all over the map ideas with you.  First, if you have Eddie installed on your system you can jump between servers with just a few clicks on the client.  That is nice because the session server selected can in a sense be "mission specific".  For USA citizens it puts a strain on datacenter relationships (AirVpn - Datacenter) when our users download stuff in aggregate from USA servers, and the datacenters keep getting piles of DMCA notices.  It seems to be a bit better in Canada, but the principle applies there too.  You the individual user are not going to see any DMCA notice getting to you, but note that we the Air users have lost servers in the USA because the Air relationship with datacenters was too strained.  Therefore; it would be preferrable to use Netherlands for downloading something that results in a DMCA or similar.  I know the speed degradation is "sucky" but if the file sizes are not too large you would be acting as a "team player" to all the Air members here.