Jump to content


Photo

Eddie 2.14.5 released


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#21 5YmkoLQZ

5YmkoLQZ

    Advanced Member

  • Members2
  • PipPipPip
  • 212 posts

Posted 07 June 2018 - 08:26 AM

Thank you for your work! My impression is that my internet is faster with 2.14.5, but this may be subjective.

 

 

Is tls-crypt enabled by default? I did not find anything in the settings.

 

What does "Enable latency tests" mean, and is it security relevant (traffic outside the tunnel or something like that)?

 

https://airvpn.org/topic/27448-explanation-of-protocols-tab-under-settings/?p=73383

 

1 and 2 are tls-auth, 3 and 4 are tls-crypt.

 

The reason for having two of each is in case one is blocked by ....  ISP or something.

 

If you resolve a server name, for example, "nslookup leo.airvpn.org", it'll resolve to its #1 IP.

 

I don't see a 3/4 in the protocols list you mention. 1/2 are just alternative IP's (entries I guess?) in case (as you say) one is blocked.



#22 Clodo

Clodo

    AirVPN Team

  • Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • LocationItaly

Posted 07 June 2018 - 09:48 AM

I have a problem on linux debian newest verision..eddie connect to server if I am not using network lock but if I use this option I cant connect to server(its trying to connect and restarting process all the time..) Is there any solution for this?

Please post a log and your Debian version.

#23 jeuia3e9x74uxu6wk0r2u9kdos

jeuia3e9x74uxu6wk0r2u9kdos

    Advanced Member

  • Members2
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts

Posted 07 June 2018 - 11:35 AM


 

 


 

 


Thank you for your work! My impression is that my internet is faster with 2.14.5, but this may be subjective.

 

 

Is tls-crypt enabled by default? I did not find anything in the settings.

 

What does "Enable latency tests" mean, and is it security relevant (traffic outside the tunnel or something like that)?

https://airvpn.org/topic/27448-explanation-of-protocols-tab-under-settings/?p=73383

 

1 and 2 are tls-auth, 3 and 4 are tls-crypt.

 

The reason for having two of each is in case one is blocked by ....  ISP or something.

 

If you resolve a server name, for example, "nslookup leo.airvpn.org", it'll resolve to its #1 IP.

I don't see a 3/4 in the protocols list you mention. 1/2 are just alternative IP's (entries I guess?) in case (as you say) one is blocked.

Attached Thumbnails

  • eddie settings.PNG


#24 JSD

JSD

    Advanced Member

  • Members2
  • PipPipPip
  • 31 posts

Posted 07 June 2018 - 04:34 PM

@ DavidCricket:

 

I get 'unidentified network No internet access' with the new Eddie... a yellow exclamation point on the Internet access icon in the taskbar but Eddie works alright... (Windows 10)...

 

I have to click the note away everytime, what is, on the long term, a little annoying.

 

@ Jeuia...

 

Thank you for your reply!

 

Can you - or does anybody else - still answer this question:
 

What does "Enable latency tests" mean, and is it security relevant (traffic outside the tunnel or something like that)?



#25 Karanga

Karanga

    Member

  • Members2
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 07 June 2018 - 10:36 PM

Fatal error on connection - case submitted. Tried using old Eddie version but now a new error about protocol not configued in system. OPEN VPN version works but only works with previous Eddie version, not new one. AIRVPN supplied TAP Adapter driver will not work. Logs provided to support.

 

Reverted to previous version of Eddie and all working after a second install so sticking with the old version.



#26 JJiv

JJiv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 June 2018 - 12:51 AM

I was having trouble getting the IPv6 servers to work while using Comodo firewall to block non-VPN traffic. I use this official guide, and the problem was that the guide's safe IP Range [10.4.0.0 - 10.9.255.255] had to be bumped up to at least 10.21.255.255 to have the couple of servers work which I use.
So what is the new recommended IP range that includes IPv6-servers?



#27 omnipotent93x

omnipotent93x

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 08 June 2018 - 01:00 AM

i still get webrtc leaks,  the weird thing is it's only on certain  servers.  i've finally gave in and installed the extension to the chrome browser but if anything it's putting a very bad impression on the software client now, since i see that it can't function at 100 percent on it's own.  it's a shame really, i was hoping that this would be fixed with this update. i geuss air will have to be a secondary for now on if this can't be resolved, i've used other software clients and don't run into this problem at all.  

WebRTC leaks are not the Eddlie Client's fault but rather the web browser you are using. If you are using Chrome or Chromium you will need the web-rtc block extension, and to have it set where it redirects the webrtc request. Otherwise you need a browser like Firefox where you can disable WebRTC in the about:config options. If you have network lock enabled and are using Firefox or Chromium with the blocker extension you will not have any WebRtc leaks. I always check everytime I use Eddie and have never had any leak problems that way.

 

Edit: Also I have found using the Brave web browser with fingerprinting protection on to show no WebRTC leaks on ipleak.net as well.

well, heres the issue i have with that, i pay for both expressvpn and airvpn.  when i use the expressvpn windows client, i don't get any leaks at all, regardless of the browser that i use. however, when i use airvpn with the network lock enabled i get webrtc leaks, so i'm not all that convinced that it's not the client, maybe it's the adapter since reinstalling it did fix it temporarily.  i'm back to square one with it leaking again, and google chrome is about the most reliable browser i use, i do have firefox installed but i'm not a fan and prefer not to use it.  i was hoping to get an answer from one of the air techs, i would definitely appreciate your input. i would rather not have to install extensions in regards to the webrtc leak issue.   



#28 jesus2

jesus2

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 08 June 2018 - 08:01 PM

So, will this client be updated any time soon? It does not work unless one starts it via terminal. (Ubuntu 16.04)



#29 r3ddawn

r3ddawn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 June 2018 - 08:19 PM

Hi, can we install this new version over the older, or should we uninstall the older version then install new one?



#30 Monotremata

Monotremata

    Advanced Member

  • Members2
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 08 June 2018 - 11:48 PM

I just overwrote the old one, its working great here.



#31 Fly AirVPN

Fly AirVPN

    Advanced Member

  • Members2
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts

Posted 09 June 2018 - 08:36 AM

I get the same No Internet Access result when hovering over the tray wi-fi icon with both Eddie 2.14.5 and 2.13. When saving a file in MS Office 2016 it displays there's no internet connection available, however I can still navigate to cloud drives and save files. I attempted to find a "fix", but nothing helped. There's some past talk here in forums from staff about the unidentified network no internet being considered normal (when using VPN). There are times the tray tip will display Unidentified Network Internet Access, but I do not know what causes the difference.



#32 radolkin

radolkin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 09 June 2018 - 11:11 AM

I'm using Eddie-2.14.5 on Arch Linux, and eddie-tray doesn't work.

 

...

(eddie-tray:1400): libappindicator-WARNING **: 11:58:20.851: Unable to get the session bus: Address element “False” does not contain a colon (:)

(eddie-tray:1400): LIBDBUSMENU-GLIB-WARNING **: 11:58:20.851: Unable to get session bus: Address element “False” does not contain a colon (:)

...

 

In Eddie-2.14.4 it worked like a charm.

 

It doesn't matter, which package I use. Arch, portable, mono, it's always the same.

 

I did notice, that the name was changed from eddie_tray to eddie-tray. What else has been changed, I wonder.



#33 WaNNaBEAnoNymoUs

WaNNaBEAnoNymoUs

    Advanced Member

  • Members2
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts

Posted 10 June 2018 - 02:26 AM

I quess it is Gnome problem ^ . Here in gnome arch same thing, i can live with that. Afterall as you know Gnome behaviour is little different than kde,mate,xfce etc.. :)

"You don't have to be a genius to sound like one." - BDS


#34 radolkin

radolkin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 10 June 2018 - 12:21 PM

I quess it is Gnome problem ^ . Here in gnome arch same thing, i can live with that. Afterall as you know Gnome behaviour is little different than kde,mate,xfce etc.. :)

 
Well, thanks for your comment, WaNNaBEAnoNymoUs, but I don't exactly use Gnome, nor any of the other DEs, you mentioned. I'm running i3-gaps with Polybar. And yes, I can comfortably live without the icon in the tasbar, too.
Yet all of this is a little beside the point. Like I said before, in Eddie 2.14.4 it worked flawlessly, in 2.14.5 it does not. All of this without any other changes to the system around the time of the installation, mind you.
However, it's interesting to see, that the problem occurs on other DEs, too. Or maybe my system does indeed use some underlying parts of Gnome. I just thought, I should mention the whole situation. ;)



#35 zsam288

zsam288

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts

Posted 10 June 2018 - 12:47 PM

Is there any way to see when protocol is set to automatic wether or not tls crypt is used?

 

I've been comparing eddie generated configs both with tls crypt forced on and on "automatic" to a server without tls crypt and I don't see a difference?



#36 dm12005airvpn

dm12005airvpn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 June 2018 - 02:38 PM

Eddie 2.14.5 broken after upgrade on Ubuntu 17.10 64bit, GNOME 3.26.1

 

 

. 2018.06.10 16:33:44 - Eddie version: 2.14.5 / linux_x64, System: Linux, Name: Ubuntu 17.10 \n \l, Version: Linux foobar 4.13.0-43-generic #48-Ubuntu SMP Wed May 16 12:18:48 UTC 2018 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux, Mono/.Net: 4.6.2 (Debian 4.6.2.7+dfsg-1ubuntu1); Framework: v4.0.30319
. 2018.06.10 16:33:44 - Reading options from /home/user1/.airvpn/AirVPN.xml
No protocol specified
  at System.Windows.Forms.Control..ctor () [0x00014] in <d5b72d15d4f7424c8a1538e3f19ec2e3>:0 
  at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl..ctor () [0x00000] in <d5b72d15d4f7424c8a1538e3f19ec2e3>:0 
  at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl..ctor () [0x0000e] in <d5b72d15d4f7424c8a1538e3f19ec2e3>:0 
  at System.Windows.Forms.Form..ctor () [0x00012] in <d5b72d15d4f7424c8a1538e3f19ec2e3>:0 
  at Eddie.Forms.Form..ctor () [0x00000] in <9ff1b503a59744efb8c7748585449077>:0 
  at Eddie.Forms.Forms.Main..ctor () [0x0003f] in <9ff1b503a59744efb8c7748585449077>:0 
  at (wrapper remoting-invoke-with-check) Eddie.Forms.Forms.Main:.ctor ()
  at Eddie.Forms.Linux.Program.Main () [0x00092] in <38b487692e31434abfd0d9b16c920bbc>:0 

Unhandled Exception:
System.TypeInitializationException: The type initializer for 'System.Windows.Forms.WindowsFormsSynchronizationContext' threw an exception. ---> System.TypeInitializationException: The type initializer for 'System.Windows.Forms.XplatUI' threw an exception. ---> System.ArgumentNullException: Could not open display (X-Server required. Check your DISPLAY environment variable)
Parameter name: Display



#37 iwih2gk

iwih2gk

    Advanced Member

  • Members2
  • PipPipPip
  • 282 posts

Posted 11 June 2018 - 05:19 PM

Post removed.  I didn't install the new Eddie properly.  Removed original text to avoid confusing readers.  Eddie current release is working perfectly on Debian Stretch.



#38 davidcrickett

davidcrickett

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 11 June 2018 - 10:56 PM

I get the same No Internet Access result when hovering over the tray wi-fi icon with both Eddie 2.14.5 and 2.13. When saving a file in MS Office 2016 it displays there's no internet connection available, however I can still navigate to cloud drives and save files. I attempted to find a "fix", but nothing helped. There's some past talk here in forums from staff about the unidentified network no internet being considered normal (when using VPN). There are times the tray tip will display Unidentified Network Internet Access, but I do not know what causes the difference.

This solved it for me -> https://airvpn.org/topic/27414-youll-need-internet-for-this-microsoft-services-when-using-ssl-tunnel/?hl=office

Update: and then  it didn't - office still asks for my password each time... but under Network Status in windows prefs it now says I am connected to the internet, which it didn't before. Hm...



#39 hanswurst77

hanswurst77

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts

Posted 12 June 2018 - 03:18 PM

i'm running eddie on linux mint 18.2 cinnamon and have it in my repositories, so the update to 2.14.5. went through automatically. everything works fine, except for one thing:

under preferences, the protocols tab says "30 protocol modes not available due to your OpenVPN version".

does that mean that i must update my openvpn version? do i have to re-install eddie manually to achieve that or is there another way?



#40 iggyvpn

iggyvpn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • LocationBRD

Posted 12 June 2018 - 07:48 PM

Hi,

 

i'm running Eddie 2.14.5 on Manjaro Linux 17.1.10 XFCE and Kernel 4.14.48-2 installed from AUR.

Eddie works without problems. Big thanks to AirVPN Team and all people working on Eddie :good:

 

 

mfg

iggyvpn






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Servers online. Online Sessions: 14909 - BW: 56626 Mbit/sYour IP: 54.197.24.206Guest Access.