Not connected, Your IP: 3.147.27.172
Sign in to follow this  
whiskey_76

installing portable airvpn client version

I haven't been able to get this to install. I have been using the ubuntu netowrk manager with certs and its working fine but I miss the features the client has. I moved the extracted tarball files to my /etc/airvpn folder but I still can't get it to work or install. Do I need to change the permissions on any files? What am I missing here? I'm still new to linux and if I can't install something with gui or apt-get command and I don't have clear cut instructions I can run into trouble. Waiting for some advice, thanks.

What are the exact errors you get?

When installing the client, you should use dpkg, not apt-get.

The portable package, just as the name suggests, doesn't require you to install anything.

You have to download the tarball from here:

https://airvpn.org/repository/2.10/airvpn_linux_x64_portable.tar.gz

Then extract it,

tar -zvxf airvpn_linux_x64_portable.tar.gz

Then copy that directory anywhere you want on your system (mind the permissions).

Once you did, you will have a 64-bit ELF Linux executable (filename: airvpn) which will statically call

the required libraries and objects from that directory upon startup.

So you will have to just make a shortcut to that executable anywhere you prefer.

Occasional moderator, sometimes BOFH. Opinions are my own, except when my wife disagrees.

The portable package, just as the name suggests, doesn't require you to install anything.

Then extract it,

Then copy that directory anywhere you want on your system (mind the permissions).

Once you did, you will have a 64-bit ELF Linux executable (filename: airvpn) which will statically call

So you will have to just make a shortcut to that executable anywhere you prefer.

I elevated myself to the root user just to try something and I was in the folder with the airvpn file I tried airvpn & ./airvpn when I did ./airvpn I got this error: