Not connected, Your IP: 3.149.24.159
AdderDeath

Eddie 2.10 Portable not working (again) on Ubuntu 16.04 due to 'libMonoPosixHelper.so' Error

Hey,

I have been using the Portable version of Eddie on my Ubuntu 16.04 installation with no problems, ever since the native Ubuntu client stopped working on 16.04 a few months ago. 

Earlier today, I booted my laptop up after about two weeks and got the recent set of updates for Ubuntu 16.04, which I've been running since April 2016. Post installing the updates and restarting the laptop, I tried running the portable Eddie 2.10 client by clicking the shortcut I've set up on the launcher. Nothing happened, no error message, no freeze and in fact no other sign that the icon had even been clicked.

After restarting the computer, I again tried clicking on the launcher shortcut a few more times to no response. Since I had made no changes (or even turned on the laptop) since the last two weeks, I thought the recent set of updates to Ubuntu might have something to do with Eddie not launching or even giving an error. So I explored the AirVPN forums and came across these two links: https://airvpn.org/topic/17810-installing-portable-airvpn-client-version/ and https://airvpn.org/topic/18366-airvpn-portable-archlinux-x64-not-running/ that dicuss this problem.

In order to follow the instructions in the above two links, I downloaded a new copy of Eddie 2.10 Portable client, extracted it on the Desktop and attempted to launch it in the Terminal (something I never had to do before) The output (which is similar to the errors described in the two links above) was as follows:

gtnoob@Anonymous-Laptop:~/Desktop/airvpn_linux_x64_portable$ '/home/gtnoob/Desktop/airvpn_linux_x64_portable/airvpn' 
Unhandled Exception: System.TypeInitializationException: An exception was thrown by the type initializer for Mono.Unix.Native.Syscall ---> System.DllNotFoundException: $mono_libdir/libMonoPosixHelper.so