Not connected, Your IP: 18.219.22.169
Sign in to follow this  
NaDre

ISP-s versus Backbone Providers - "Observations of an Internet Middleman" - Net Neutrality

I am not an expert on these issues, but I know that there a couple of things that make comparisons quite difficult.

2) "Peering" arrangements between IPS-s and back bone exchanges can have a huge impact. Struggles over revenue sharing between businesses (particularly in the U.S. I believe) results in deliberate throttling. When you go through a VPN, the series of peer to peer exchanges you go through may change dramatically. And can impact bandwidth dramatically. So changing servers can make a difference. So can changing ISP-s. But predicting ahead of time what might help, unless you want to become an expert on internet peering issues, is impractical I think.

UPDATE:

What I know about these peering issues comes from the struggles my seed box providers has had providing fast connections to there users. On of the things they often ask for is a tracert/traceroute traces from the the users system to theirs, but also from their system back to the user's system.

The traceroute back to the user's system can be done from a shell account on the server. Something VPN users do not have.

These logs can be used by those who really want to dig into it to figure out what peer to peer exchanges are used going each way.

Given that there are so many technically oriented/curious people using AirVPN, I wonder if AirVPN would may want to add a feature to allow a user to obtain a traceroute back to their system from the VPN server?

I have not seen much discussion here about the struggles going on between ISP-s (especially in the U.S.) and backbone providers. And the effect it is having on customers. Including (I think) AirVPN users. So I thought I would post a link to a recent blog post on the Level 3 web site:

http://blog.level3.com/global-connectivity/observations-internet-middleman/

A note worthy bit: